SoapCommander week 5 summary

SoapCommander

IMG_7101

The week five out of the six weeks with SoapCommander went as usual. Each day was complete with a smooth comfortable shave with a greatIMG_8265 thick and creamy lather. Each lather had a great cushion and slickness that provided a great shave every time. I focused on two things in week five of my six weeks with SoapCommander.

The first out of the two things I focused on every day was Blooming my shave soap before my nightly shave. Blooming is a process in which you soak your shave soap before use. Blooming softens your shave soap and makes your lathering time shorter. The once hard bodied soap that you softened by rotations of your shave brush to work up that nice creamy lather is now already softened. Let me break it down for you from the beginning.

I wanted to see what differences Blooming my shave soap from SoapCommander made in different areas of my nightly shave. I wanted to see if the time and quality of lather as well as IMG_8107the consistency of the nightly lather changed at all from Blooming. The prep time is minimal and takes very little work especially if you bloom your soap while you’re in the shower, which is exactly what I did. I soaked my shave brush at the same time I bloomed my shave soap for an even better experience.

I took the lid off of the container of SoapCommander and covered the top of the hard bodied shave soap with hot water from the faucet in the bathroom. It’s suggested to Bloom your shave soap for 10-15 minutes. I decided that I would set my standard at 15 minutes for a softer soap. Within that 15 minutes while my shave soap was blooming and my shave brush was soaking I showered and got my other shaving products ready for my nightly shave.

After the 15 minutes was done I emptied the water from my shave bowl that I used to soak my brush with. I squeezed the bristles on my shaveIMG_8374 brush once to drain out some of the excess water but not all of it and then I set my brush off to the side. I took the container of SoapCommander that had been soaking in the hot water and I poured the hot soapy water into a separate bowl and kept it for later use. Know the once hard bodied SoapCommander shave soap was softened and ready to lather.

I started to rotate my shave brush and immediately noticed the difference in the lather right away. When you first start to work up a lather with a non Bloomed shave soap you first get a runny pre-lather that you work into the desired lather of your liking. With a Bloomed shave soap you by-pass the watery pre-lather stage and go right to the thick pre-shave lather you want. Now you can start working your lather up into the thick,IMG_8106 rich and creamy lather you want.

Once I get the desired amount of the thick pre-shave lather into my shaving bowl, I then can start working the lather up. My lather is a little thick to begin with. You will notice this by the consistency. If your lather looks to thick and sticky add some of the water that you have saved. you can either dip your brush into the water or pour a little into your shaving bowl. Then re-lather. There is no right or wrong with lathering its all what you like. I think there is a standard to judge by. If your lather is to runny then your cushion might be less making it easier to get razor burn, cuts and nicks. If your lather is too thick than it might not transfer from the brush to your IMG_8131dome as well and you may use to much at one time. In the long run its all about your preferences and what you like.

I want to talk a little bit about the saved water that was set aside in a separate container. The trick with this water is how much water you use . The hot water softens the soap and the soap mixes with the hot water. I guess you can say the water and the soap infuse together. The more water you use the less soapy and tacky it will be . If you don’t add enough water than the infused soapy water is really tacky but less abundant and you run out in the middle of your nightly shave.

You want to use this soapy water anytime you re-lather during your shave. You really are just using the extra soapy water to re work your lather. This makes for a much creamier lather. TheIMG_8132 more soapy it is the less runny your lather will be. The less soapy the water is the harder it will be to achieve your desired lather. You can also use the saved soapy water as a pre-shave soap as well. I use both a pre-shave oil and this soapy pre-shave soap. Some might call it overkill but I haven’t noticed any side effects from to much pre-shave product. At the end of the day when your done with your nightly shave it all comes down to choices and what you like and don’t like. Each person likes something different when it comes to shaving routine and products. Blooming is just one way I have found to make my nightly shaves better. I’ve added blooming as a staple to my shaving routine from now on.

In my last week to come with SoapCommander I’m going to include a way to keep my lather warm from start to finish with every shave. I’m looking forward to this small change in my shaving routine. Even though it might be small it makes a big change in comfort. Love your products and you will love the results! Have a #Baldtastic day!

-TheBaldNation-

Leave a Reply

